Ads

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Beeswax tealights gone pearshaped, please help a total beginner!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Beeswax tealights gone pearshaped, please help a total beginner!

Hello there everyone

I've just introduced myself in another forum and am desperately hoping someone might be able to tell me why my first batch of candles have gone completely wrong and just won't burn! :-(

I used the metal cups and wicks from shop bought tealights, removed the wax and refilled them with a gorgeous mixture of pure beeswax and tons of expensive essential oils (plus a little wax crayon melted in to add colour and some glitter sprinkled on top). Other than the fact a couple of the candles split right down the centre in varying degrees (can only think these were the candles I added more wax crayon to in order to get a darker colour) they look beautiful and are all supposed to be gifts...but I just tested a couple and the wick won't stay alight :-( Any ideas why?

I once went on a beeswax candlemaking workshop several years ago and I remember the tutor saying the width of the wick had to be correct for the width of the candle otherwise it wouldn't burn properly...but I'd assumed if it worked for tealight wax then it'd work for my yummy concoction too...apparently not! Is it perhaps because I didn't dip the wicks in beeswax (though they're already coated in the tealight wax)?

Any suggestions or ideas would be really gratefully received...thank you :-)

FG XXX

I expect one of our clever candle-makers will be along soon with a better answer than me!

But in the meantime, I was just wondering whether, if you kept lighting it when it went out, it would eventually carry on burning? I know I have had to do this with sop-bought ones before, so it isnt necessarily that you have done something wrong!

C x

Comment