Regulations

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Regulations

Hello, I have been reading some threads from last year regarding regulations on making and selling candles. I am a complementary therapist who has decided to branch out into the making and sale of aromatherapy and herbal products. So one of my 'new additions' is aromatherapy candles. I have bought the basic kit and plan to spe******e in beeswax candles. However, before I embark on this new adventure I want to check what regulations there are. I see that labelling is important and testing your candles. With cosmetics, testing has to be undertaking by a spe******t. When you refer to testing your own candles is it enough for you to test them yourself to see how they burn etc. Or do you need to have a spe******t test them for you?

I apologise if this has been asked many times before.

I look forward to your response, and any tips for successful beewax candle making would be gratefully received.

Best wishes
    Helen

Hi Helen,

At the present moment in time there are no regulations on candle making (hence we are flooded with a lot of dross from China!!) however I have heard that in the not too distant future there will be tighter controls but at the moment none.

However I strongly recommend testing all your candles yourself to ensure, safety, burn quality etc (it's your reputation on the line after all) and always always always use safety labels on each candle, melt whatever you sell. In today's blame culture best to cover your back against being sued!

HTH.

Lisa

Bowed Over
    Handmade Dog Collar Accessories
    www.bowedover.co.uk

Comment

Regulations

Helen,

When I was recently 'surfing' for information online regards the implications of selling candles (commercially on a very small scale) I came across a European Standard draft for; EN15494 "Candles - product safety labels and warnings"