Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Candle questions....from a newbie

Hi Everyone

I'm a newbie on here and relatively new to candle making, I;ve got a couple of questions if anyone can help ;-)

First, I'm going to start doing container candles and have just realised that the HUGE bag of soy wax I have is pillar blend, will I still be able to use it???? also, how do you 'whip' wax???????

Happy 2009!

Karen x
    xxKarenxx
    www.bubblesandbombs.co.uk
    http://www.facebook.com/home.php#/group.php?gid=50723287992

Hi Karen,

I am recent to candle-making as well so can only pass on only limited experience but hope it helps.

Pillar Blend, as I understand it, has a higher melting point than container wax and lends itself better to self-supporting candles. When I was researching waxes I 'googled' the maker and wax name and found a lot of iinformation about recommended heating up and pouring temperatures. Saved me a lot of time and wax - woud suggest you have a go if not already done.

There should not be too much difference in using container wax but I have found lower consistency and performance. The amount of fragrance has had an effect in my efforts as well. If you bought some Container Blend maybe you can mix the two which I have read can be effective.

When I have made 'whipping wax' I have heated it up as normal (to 175F) and then let it cooled until a firm skin has formed on top. Then I have an electric whisk and put this on and whisked until required consistency. You can do this by hand as well if needed. You have a very short period of time to get the whipped wax to where it needs to go so move quickly and I have not been able to have time to fill a pipe bag without the wax hardeneing as of yet!! Maybe this is me !! However, whenever I have tried to whip pillar blend I have not been able to get the wax 'turned around' to the candle in time unlike using container wax so woud suggest CB for whipping.