Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What's the bast way to begin??

Hi there,

This is my first time on the forum!! I'm a comlete novice to the world of candlemaking, but I'd really love to give it a go.

If any more experienced candlemakers could give me a few tips on the best ways for a beginner to get started, I'd really appreciate it,

thanks,
    Helen

to the Forum. My only candle experience is lighting them, I'm afraid, but there are lots of people here who will be more useful than me with your request!

Si.
    Wood Tattoos
    Decorative Pyrography for all Occasions - Author of "Woodburning with Style" (2010) and "Learn to Burn" (2013)
    Facebook
    Flickr
    Twitter

Comment

Hi Helen and welcome to the forum from me too.

The best thing to do if you you are a complete novice at candlemaking is buy a candlemaking kit as this should include everything you need to make your first candles - the kit should include some wax, some stearin and vybar (you may get one or other of these) some wick, a mould, some fragrance and the most important thing a candle making thermometer. If the kit doesn't include the thermometer buy one you can't make candles safely with out one. Wax has a flash point and if you aren't careful BOOOOMMMM!!!

There are lots of different kits out there you can get paraffin and soy kits but if you are starting out I would start with paraffin this is a whole lot easier to work with.

You can try

candelights

full moons cauldron

HTH.

cheers.

Lisa

Bowed Over
      Handmade Dog Collar Accessories
      www.bowedover.co.uk

Comment

Originally posted by woodtattoos View Post
        My only candle experience is lighting them,

Si.
        Me too and burning them at both ends

and hello from me too!

Comment

welcome

stay lucky

Carol
          Carol
          God helps them that help themselves.

Comment