Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Any regulations?

hi again,
    have made a fair few candles, and now my exams are over will be making tonnes more!!!
    I am hoping to hold a few candle parties over the summer, just as a bit of an experiment really, as i love making them would be great to sell them and cover my costs to be able to make more!!!! as i've never done anything like this before, i have no idea what kind of regulations/ legalities there are, if any, to selling candles.
    Any advise would be greatly appreciated!!!!
    thanks
    xxx

can't help I'm afraid

can't help with this one but surely someone will be along soon. I wouldn't have thought there were any regs for this but maybe just have some sort of insurance as we are in a blame culture nowadays. Linda
    My blog http://setters-delight.blogspot.com

Folksy http://www.justgifts.folksy.com

Comment

Yes and no.
      Although there aren't any directives for candlemaking (laws), there are candle making safety standards which you should make sure you adhere to. Sounds a bit scary but it isn't really, as they are common sense! I'll list them for you below.

Also, I would recommend that you get some insurance too. Google craft insurance and you'll find some suppliers.

European Candle Safety Standards...

BS EN 15493 has the following requirements:
      • Free standing candles should be stable on a 10° slope
      • There should be no secondary ignition longer than 10s.
      • The flame height shall not exceed 75mm (30mm for tea light)
      • Container candles shall self-extinguish without breaking the container
      • Candles marketed as self-extinguishing shall do so safely
      • Candles shall not emit afterglow for more than 20 seconds
      • Candles shall not re-ignite after being extinguished

BS EN 15494 is a standard about labelling. It has four mandatory warnings:
      • Never leave a burning candle unattended
      • Burn candle out of the reach of children and pets