Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Upcycling tin cans- please help.

Hello,

I'm really into upcycling and decoupage.
    I started painting & using decoupage on recycled tin cans and filling with wax.
    I've tested quite a few and the cans hold the wax well and dont get too hot.
    I've had F&F test with no issues.

I've seen quite a few people selling things like this on various places.
    And I'd like to eventually turn this into a small side business.

Ive had a few people saying it's not legal to sell candles made in recycled tins cans, I've googled this and cant find any information?

Please can anybody advise as I dont want to move forward if it's going to cause trouble in the long run.
    I want to do things right...

I've had a few insurance quotes and they haven't asked what containers im using.

Please advise if you can help.

Thankyou!

Not heard of that 🤔...your local trading standards office would know.

Dave.

Comment

I'd be more concerned with the flammable glue, paper and paint issue near a naked flame. Have you mentioned this to your insurer?

Comment

Hi I haven't got insurance as yet just quotes online.. maybe I need to start with giving a few places a call and mention everything.
        I'm also using non flammable paints and non flammable craft glue.
        The paper napkin is between 2 layers of the glue.
        It's hard to know what's ok & what's not. I want to do things right.

thanks for your reply. X
        Last edited by loulou1810; 08-06-2020, 08:50 PM.

Comment