Umm... help would be nice!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Umm... help would be nice!

We would like to try out candle making, and were wondering how to go about it. What are the easiest candles to make? How do you make tea lights? How do you make scented tealights (do you start with a regular tealight and add fragance or what) Sorry for so many questions, we're confused!
    Thanks
    Caz & Harriet

Hello!

Well there is so much information out there on candle making, it can probably be a bit overwhelming if you have never tried it before!

The easiest candles to make IMHO are wickless candles, or wax melts. With wicked candles you usually have to do quite a bit of testing to make sure that you have the right wick for your wax and fragrance combination etc.

As a complete beginner, I'd recommend you buy yourself a starter kit, for wax melts or for candles. Search on Ebay for one or google midnightstar candles, as candle kits are availlable there (sorry I can't post a link, I think I'm still too new here to do that!)

Another thing you could do is have a look for some candlemaking books, such as the candlemakers companion. There is even a candlemaking for dummies book, which is a good starting point, although I think there is alot more to learn past this book. It's trial and error but it's really good fun!

If you have any specific questions just post here and I'm sure some of the candlemakers would be able to help you.

Good luck, and enjoy!

Becky :-) x
    www.purplesparkle.co.uk
    http://purplesparklecrafts.blogspot.com/

Comment

Originally posted by purplesparkle View Post
      Hello!

Well there is so much information out there on candle making, it can probably be a bit overwhelming if you have never tried it before!

The easiest candles to make IMHO are wickless candles, or wax melts. With wicked candles you usually have to do quite a bit of testing to make sure that you have the right wick for your wax and fragrance combination etc.