Ads

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

What is the best way to make a watertight acryllic/perspex box?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What is the best way to make a watertight acryllic/perspex box?

I am a student studying at univeristy, and my current project idea relies on being able to make a seethrough watertight box. I know from experience gluing acrylic is always a messy job; but if I wanted to make watertight box from it, I'm not sure if your standard 'glue gun glue' would achieve a watertight seal. So if anybody has experience in making watertight containers, knows how useful a glue gun would be or can suggest a better sealant I'd be very grateful.

Thankyou.

I did some years ago but forgot lol, so here's what I found and it's almost the same.

Vik

"Gluing acrylic
    How to glue acrylic and tips on gluing acrylic fish tanks. Always practice before gluing your tank together, edges must be smooth with no gaps. If you get leaks you can run an extra corner piece thats the thickness of your material. So with 1/4" acrylic sheet you will take 1/4" square acrylic rod and cut it to length and then glue it in place in the edge. This piece can be cut from your material or square rods can be bought from most plastic supply complanies.

Acrylic fish tank repair - to repair an acrylic aquarium you will need the same cement as building. You can use the square rod method as described above or cut a new piece to fit the corner that needs repair. Cut a square rod the thickness of your acrylic tank (approximately). Extend the piece beyond the crack/split acrylic at least an inch on each side of the leak. Press the piece in and cement it in place. Other than looks the extra piece should fix the leak.
    "

Oakdale Studios Facebook
    Bob Tanner Facebook ~~Viktor von Forkenspoon Facebook ~~Shirt Creek Facebook