considering workshops, any advice?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• considering workshops, any advice?

I am an art teacher whose timetable has changed immeasurably during my absence with long term illness, as such I now teach Health & Social Care and no longer have any Art (which I live and breathe!) ...yes, they can do that. I'm employed as a 'teacher' and can be deployed where neccessary more or less.

As such,(enough of the moaning) I am eager to get my arty fix outside of work and I am considering setting up art & craft workshops either in my new house or at the local village hall.

I am CRB checked which is a good starting point but I have no idea about insurance or telling the tax man etc - it's that sort of stuff that flusters me, I can do advertising, planning, ideas and costs etc.

I want to do it properly!

Any advice or experiences much appreciated!!

I started doing workshops teaching felting in January from my home. I have done things previously in my local village hall, but if you have the room I would recommend doing it from home as things are generally more comfortable for your students. We have an 'office/workshop' at the back of our house which we designate for work purposes which menas you can then claim some expenses back. I would advise your first step to register with the HMRC as self employed - they are often quite helpful. Being CRB checked is a bonus but I would advise you getting some public liability insurance at the very least.

Good luck, I love doing my workshops - its a real buzz seeing other peoples joy at what they can create.
    Jo Slesser
    RareMagic Design
    www.raremagic.co.uk

"There are no mistakes - just happy accidents"

Comment

I agree with Jo,

Make sure you let HMRC know what you intend on doing and register as self employed to ensure your not hit with any fines.