Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• riven edge to slate

Hi,

I recycle some slate tiles and make chalk boards and coasters and things. I use a small chisel to get the riven edge after cutting but wondered if anyone out there had any better ideas as it is a pain and easy to chip and break.

Cheers

Phil

can you not use a sander?
    full time mum and very very part time crafter.

Comment

Have you tried using a grindstone in Dremel type tool?
      Pat Murphy

http://www.gladturnings.co.uk
      https://www.facebook.com/GladTurnings.Woodturning

Comment

I should have explained my problem better. I am trying to get rid of the smooth edge and recreate the riven edge you get on roof slates.

Comment

I'm no expert on slate but i weathered the edges of some roof slates last year ( to blend newer ones in with the old ones on our roof ) and to do this i repeatedly tapped the edge onto concrete holding the slate at an angle just off vertical.

I offer no guarantee of success but it may be worth a try
          http://www.dosrodgerspottery.co.uk/

Comment

The only way I know how to get the 'riven' edge to roof slate is by using a roofers 'stake' and a knife (don't know the correct name) it has the handle bent to the side a little so that the blade is about an inch to the left of the handle. One top of the blade you have a triangular spike which was used to punch the nails holes into the slate edge.

The stake is shaped like a 'T' with the lower tail as a spike. You hold one end of the 'T' and slam the spike into some timber. Then lay the edge of the slate on the 'T' top edge so it is supported, then use the knife in a chopping motion so the 'T' and the blade come together like a pair of scissors. If you are careful you get a straight edge on top, but the underneath breaks away a little and leaves the riven edge you talk about.