Ads

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Small job gold leather tooling/gilding/embossing?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Small job gold leather tooling/gilding/embossing?

Hi all,
    I'm in a bit of a pickle! I have a small (and fairly cheap, to be honest...!) leather wallet-type thing that I would really like to have some gold lettering on, 3 or 4 lines of smallish print if possible. Unfortunately, the process that seems most often used for this is hot foil blocking (I think), which companies either require huge runs for or charge about £15 per line!

The wallet only cost £10 to start with and it's not for anything highly important... I'll come clean and say that I'm an amateur magician and need this for a trick, although unfortunately I'm still a student too so paying £40 for a few lines of gold lettering just isn't possible!

Is there any way I can put some smart looking gold lettering on a leather wallet without expensive "hot foil blocking"? It'd be fine even if it started to wear off fairly soon, the wallet doesn't get every day use. It's not even important that it be embossed... I just want the lettering!

Can you get gold transfers with decent adhesive or that you can put on with an iron or anything like that? Or does anyone do their own similar leather lettering who is feeling really kind and would like to offer to help me out with this for a modest fee?!

Thanks for absolutely any info at all!

I think you can do it yourself with a bit of the hotfoil stuff and a soldering iron or pyro iron. But I don't KNOW, and you would have to experiment...
    Cheers,
    Scorch

Scorch's Pyrography : www.scorchpyro.co.uk
    Crafts on Flickr : http://www.flickr.com/photos/tanniso...7606138937826/

Comment

This might be a good option. http://www.tonertex.com/pages/write_rub_pen.html#

I know that Fred Aldous stocked it if you phone them they would say if it would do the job you want.