Teaching crafts

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Teaching crafts

I'm after some advice please I've been making cards now for a few years and have been making jewellery for a short time and would like to be teach people and run workshops and was wondering do you need any qualifications.

I would appreciate any advice.

Thanks
    Louise
    Website
    WWW.CUTTINGCREATIONS.CO.UK

Facebook http://www.facebook.com/pages/Cuttin...979559?ref=sgm

I've done one to one jewellery making classes a couple of years ago but I don't have any qual. It depends who you are teaching, it's quite regulated to teach kids for instance (I believe).

You need to make sure you have a plan well laid out, and a plan B in case the student is quick to learn etc. Offer a wide enough choice of what you can teach, various projects using different tools/threads/findings, in jewellery making it's quite easy I find. One of my friends did a 2 week course at a Uni with a project a day. I actually gave her some ideas, as she was mainly into seed beads.

If you have a local craft shop, get in touch, they might already have teachers but show them what you can offer, you never know. Or else, run workshops yourself, but you will have to advertise. (you might need public liability insurance)
    Bead Shop, 91 Liverpool Road, Penwortham, Preston, PR1 0QB, Lancashire. Mon-Fri 10am-5pm, Sat 10am-4pm, Sunday 11am-3pm.

Comment

You don't need a qualification but I did the certificated course at the local college years ago to teach adults. It helps to plan lessons and also suggestions how to deal with certain pupils etc. May be worth looking into or go along to a course to see how it is run. Don't think I have my paperwork now or could have let you have a copy. They came to my studio to see me run a course as an observer, they then discuss how it went and if you should make any changes. The actual course was good fun and it builds up a network of like minded individuals.

Good Luck

Comment