Newbie seeking advice please

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Newbie seeking advice please

Hello all, my first post here and I'm a newbie to the craft I want to make so I'm hoping for a bit of friendly advice

I've recently moved to Spain where my husband is starting his own framing business. To contribute to the business and have a little thing of my own, I'd like to start making baby imprints and castings (hands,feet etc) which hubby can then frame. I've spent ages on google today trying to find he best type of clay/material to use to make the imprints but am coming up with nothing, just websites offering the service, not the materials to buy wholesale so I can do this myself.

Does anybody know the best type of material to use - it needs to be something that dries white, isn't messy, won't transfer to the skin and is chemical free so no allergies occur.

Sorry if this seems a stupid question, I'm not new to the crafty side of things totally, I ran my own bespoke wedding stationery business until I had a baby, but I've never worked with clay before so I'm not sure where to start.

Thanks, hope to hear from someone soon!

I'm not able to help but I'm sure there are some people on here who have done similar things so will know the answer.

I've just done a bit of googling and seen that one site mentions dental alginate... is that what you might be looking for? Either that or some other sort of air-drying clay.

Type "baby casting kit" on Google and you get a million+ sites which should give you more info.

Si.
    Wood Tattoos
    Decorative Pyrography for all Occasions - Author of "Woodburning with Style" (2010) and "Learn to Burn" (2013)
    Facebook
    Flickr
    Twitter

Comment