Resin casting.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Resin casting.

Hi. I’m hoping to make a Lego man lamp, using resin, for one of my grandsons. I am fairly new to resin but not new to craft and having a go. I plan to buy a silicone Lego man mould. Just a question, do I pour a layer then leave it to set. Then another layer and then another. Is it best to build it up in layers
    You do not have permission to view this gallery.
    This gallery has 1 photos.

It's been years since I did any resin casting, so you may find a better answer elsewhere. However, as I understand it, the normal reason to do pours in layers is when the hardening process involves air (nitrogen or oxygen) cures.
    With resin, the mix contains hardener (which does need to be mixed thoroughly) - and doesn't require air curing.

Other points coming to mind
    During the pour / hardening, the resin lets of lots of fumes (or certainly used to) - so I would definitely go for somewhere that is very well ventilated.

The weight of the resin will cause your mould to bulge - so you may well want to reinforce the mould with a casing before starting - if you have done lots of moulding before, you will have far more experience than me with this, but a plaster mould casing is not unusual.

If your mould is a full front and back, poured from the base, it will probably be in two parts. If it is a front mould only (such as from the cake moulds I can see on google) you will be pouring the resin into the back of the model. (if you are doing a multi-part mould, you need more instruction - I have a text somewhere, so should be able to assist - but it's a little more complex).