Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Starting up a soap making business in Surrey

Hello All,

I'm pretty new to business setup for soaps and other cosmetics, so apologies if raising irrelevant questions.
    I'm on the way to setup a business for home made cosmetics mainly CP soaps, lip balms and bath bombs. I undrestand that I need a safety assessment for each, I have already contacted assessors for this but from legal point of view what further actions need to be taken.

I have read about Product Information File to which the assessment is relevant to. There's a chapter about physio-chemical and microbiological specifications for raw and finished materials. How can I collect this information?

May I ask you to share with me your recent experience what to do and who to contact? I was also searching for PIF template to see how it looks like but failed, no templates - or examples which would be much better - found.

Thank you very much for your advices in advance!

Happy soapmaking!

Welcome to the forum and to the wacky world of soap:-)

trading standards is a good place to start, you will find them most helpful.

Jane
    www.just-soaps.com
    Twitter JUSTSOAPS
    FB www.facebook.com/pages/Just-Soaps/258910018463
    Natural Handmade Olive Oil Soaps and Skincare free from SLS, Parabens, and other Nasties

Comment

to the forum.
      Lucy Blossom
      Shop and blog: http://www.lucyblossomcrafts.co.uk
      https://www.facebook.com/LucyBlossomCrafts

Comment

Thank you for both of you Jane and Lucy
        I'm pretty new with the trading standards and the entire process. I have sent them a mail and got back an application form, I assume this is the starting point.
        Based on your experience is the one hour advice enough with them to discuss my question about how to setup the business?

Thank you so much in advance!

Happy soapmaking!

Comment

Hello