Brown/orange bits in cp milk soaps

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Brown/orange bits in cp milk soaps

I am at my wits end with this! For a while now my cp milk soaps have been getting browny orange bits in them. It is happening with most batches I make, which is a lot! The milk is always frozen and kept cool during the time I add the sodium hydroxide. Occasionally it does heat up and go an orange colour, but this has always been ok in the past. I have been making milk soaps for around 4 years now. When i add the lye to the oils there are no bits, but sometimes when i start mixing they form, other times it is within hours of pouring the soap into moulds. All the research i have done suggests it is the milk burning. But this is happening with every batch, and only in the past few weeks. The bits arent caustic, and the soap is ok to use, just looks awful! I have to throw it away. I was wondering if the goats milk is extra creamy, with more sugars in? Has anyone else experienced this?
    Thanks x

Sounds like DOS-Dreaded Orange Spot

Here is a link you may find useful?

http://candleandsoap.about.com/od/so...sary/g/dos.htm

You will find many other sites looking at the problem

Jane
    www.just-soaps.com
    Twitter JUSTSOAPS
    FB www.facebook.com/pages/Just-Soaps/258910018463
    Natural Handmade Olive Oil Soaps and Skincare free from SLS, Parabens, and other Nasties

Comment

No. I dont think it is DOS. It happens when im mixing the lye with the oils, sometimes there are a few in the lye solution first. Its always happened, but never made a difference to the soap. The 'bits' are solid, and i can dig them out with a knife! But divets all over the soaps look worse than the bits themselves!

Comment

Do you use the same ingredients with every batch? Just wondering if there is an undesirable extra ingredient/ additives lurking in any of the oils or the lye perhaps, just a thought.

Comment