Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Massage Candle rules and regs

Hi all,

We make scented candles and are hoping to branch into massage candles and maybe hand soaps in the coming months. Where can I find information on the rules around having cosmetic products approved (if that is the correct term). Is it easier if we use essential oils for fragrance than fragrance oils, or does it make no difference.

Thank you in advance
    Cheryl & Duncan

http://www.candle-shack.co.uk

FaceBook

Luxury natural wax candle manufacturer and candle making supplier.

Hi I am trying to find out about how to go about doing massage candles too, but not much use with the legal side of things I'm afraid because I've been struggling with that myself. However, I am a massage therapist, so I can advise on oils. Fragrance oils are a definite no-no, it has to be EO's and they have to be skin safe EO's so you will have to do some research on the oils you intend to use to make sure they are completely safe first. Also the amount of EO you use will be different to the amount you use when making normal candles. When making candles I use up to 5% EO to wax (which would be 5ml in 100ml) this is way too much for applying to the skin. As an Aromatherapist the max I would use on the skin would be 12 drops in 25 ml (48 drops in 100ml), theres about 20 drops in 1ml, so you're probably only going to use about 2% in massage candles. HTH

Comment

Just being nosy here - what IS a massage candle?

I'm assuming it's something used to actually massage someone, as you need to use skin-safe EOs in the correct concentration for skin application - but what about the fire risk? I don't think I'd fancy being massaged with a lit candle ooh errrr missus - painful!

Or are they used unlit? ie really just a lump of perfumed wax? That sounds nice, I love the texture of beeswax ...

Comment