Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Risk Assesment for Craft Fairs

Hi All

I am new to the forum but hope to become a regular user.

I have been making melt & pour soaps for 18 months, first as a hobby but have more recently ventured into the (very) small business side of this. I have my safety assessment & will shortly have liabilty insurance. I have started to book myself stalls for local craft fairs - one of them is asking for a risk assessment, can anyone give advise on the potential hazards?

Thanks in Advance

If the venue is providing the table all I can see is that someone might trip on your table cloth.
    But of course you will have thought of that and be pinning the flappy bits around the table legs. With safety pins......
    Unless you are going to pile your soaps high and they might slide off the table and land on a baby in a buggy......but you are not going to do that are you?
    Do feel free to put not applicable on the form.
    On the other hand be sensible if you decide to, say, plug a table lamp into a socket. Where is the wire trailing? Or outdoors. Customers really do not see guy ropes. The answer to that one is tie brightly coloured flags to them.

Comment

Annie has mentioned the most important, trip hazards, unsecured tablecloth etc. The only one I can add is potential injuries whilst setting up/breaking down your stand, (HSE love this one!) saying something along the lines of "make sure to take sensible precautions when lifting and moving heavy items". There was one show we did that even asked for a fire officers risk assessment to be filled out......that was fun! If you're in doubt about what to write, ask the organiser I'm sure they'll help you.
      www.formerglory.co.uk- www.seatweaving.blogspot.com - Facebook page - Twitter

Comment