Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Balm too hard

Hi everyone,
    I'm hoping someone has some good tips for me!
    I made some body balm (it's for aftercare for henna designs). I used 100gr bees wax pellets, 100gr shea butter and 100ml fractionated coconut oil. I poured the mixture in little tins only to find out that the balm is quite hard. Is there a way to fix this without having to empty all the little tins? If not, what is the best way to get it out without ruining them? I have never done this before but I know now no to pour it into the tins before testing it first!

Thanks in advance for your help!
    ~ Mish
    Henna Vibes

What is the melting point of the coconut oil? Is it 76؛ or 90؛?

I would use less beeswax...and maybe add some sweet almond oil. But beyond these thoughts, I just don't know.

About getting it out of the tins - put them upside down in a cake pan and put in the oven on low?? It'll all melt out into the pan and then you could add some sweet almond oil and maybe some ... hmmm.... a little jojoba??? I just don't know.

Cleaning up the emptied tins might prove a bear, but just be patient and they'll all eventually be fine, and labels WILL stick again....

Comment

I notice that along with the beeswax, the other oils are hard - you really need a mixture of liquid and hard oils, as suggested try jojoba or SW oil and cut the beeswax to around 50%.

Jane
      www.just-soaps.com
      Twitter JUSTSOAPS
      FB www.facebook.com/pages/Just-Soaps/258910018463
      Natural Handmade Olive Oil Soaps and Skincare free from SLS, Parabens, and other Nasties

Comment

For such small amounts of Shea and Coconut Oil, you should only need 20g (or less) of Beeswax...but you could add more liquid oils...depending on what's to hand, if you have more coconut Oil just add more of that...If you have more mix than tins, your balm will keep in the fridge for quite a while, as it doesn't have any water in it