legal help?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• legal help?

Hi I am a university student who wanted to get into making soap, but i found it too expensive just yet so I have bought ingredients to make some lip balms. I am following a recipe from a book I bought and wanted to sell very casually at my local faire and possibly online. I am just confused on all the legal stuff and need some guidance.

Thanks Fairyann xxx

to the forum. Good to see you here.
    Carol
    God helps them that help themselves.

Comment

Hi Fairyann

Im just getting in to selling bath bombs and things. You have to have a cosmetic safety assessment, you have to be competent. There are strict regulations on labelling too. I have been advised to get product and public liability in case someone has a problem with your product. Its all quite scary. If you google cosmetic regulations that will keep you busy for a while. I know Bathbomb.biz sell packages that allow you to sell without getting the safety assessment as long as you dont change any of the ingredients. I cant add the link as Im not a regular enough poster but if you google them you will find their details.

Good luck whatever you do

Donna
      FACEBOOK PAGE:http://www.facebook.com/pages/Busyfi...08530162507226

Comment

I'd be surprised if there was a package that allowed you to make and sell without a Safety Assessment - although the package might include a Safety Assessment of some kind...

I agree it is advisable to have Public and Product liability insurance...if something went wrong and you were sued and had no insurance, I think a claim can be made against any personal possessions - house, car, savings etc...

The peice of legislation you need to look up is the EU Cosmetics Directive....or give you local Trading Standards Office a ring - they are usually very helpful.

HTH
        for bath bomb, soap & Skincare kits
        plus Soap Base, Bath Bomb Ingredients, Butters,