Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Help please - I want to start working with beads

Hi all,

I am after some help please. I make wedding stationery and am usually found lurking on the wedding threads of this forum but have migrated over to the beads because I would like to start creating some wedding designs that use beadwork as I have seen designs from many other suppliers and it's something I would like to have a go at. I have never worked with beads before and wonder if someone could give me a starting point for the essentials that I would have to buy. I am guessing something along the lines of wire, beads, pliers - what else do you need to get going? what are the different kinds of beads you can buy. The ones I have looked at so far seem to either have a hole right through the middle of the beads or a loop at the top.

A couple of specific questions: How do you know what weight/strength/width of wire to get? Secondly, the kind of look I am going for is beads on a wire wrapped around a square of card that then sits on the front of the invitation. Will these beads be "sliding" on the wire or are they glued or twisted in some way to keep them in place? I have some links to websites but not sure if I am allowed to post them here - please pm me if you want to know what I mean.

Lots of questions, but any advice on getting started would be great.

Thanks!!

Sorry you've had no replies,

I think it would have been better if you had posted a link to show what you're trying to achieve, because the array of beads, wires and stringing materials on the market is quite wide.

If you're going to embelish cards with beads, I don't think you need to worry about the break weight of wire/threads. A general rule is the smaller and lighter the bead the finer the wire or thread you can use. Often the choice which to use is down to what your are making, and how you are finishing the ends off.