Beading Advice Please

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Beading Advice Please

As my new workshop is due to open any day soon (jumps up and down with excitement) I'd thought I'd try as many different types of jewellery making possible.
    The first new venture I'm going to try is beading and am asking all the experienced beaders here what are the essential tools and equipment that I will need when starting? Secondly, can anyone recommend any good books to get me started?

I'm used to combining beads and crystal with my silver jewellery but other than that I'm a total newbie when it comes to beading.

Caroline
    silver jewellery at The Silver Jewellery Workshop
    bespoke handmade jewellery
    Silver Jewellery blog
    Handmade Jewellery Blog

Hi Caroline,
    I've got some basic instruction pages here on my website.

As to books, there are lots of books on beading, and 4 UK beading magazines, which have techniques in them. I don't know if you can get them in Spain? The For Dummies range of books do one on jewellery making. I haven't read it, but it's a big book, and that range is usually packed with information.

For starters, the basic tools you'll need are round nose pliers, flat nose pliers, and cutters. You can do a lot with those three pliers, but there are also tools for more specific purposes, such as crimping pliers, magical crimping pliers and others as you get more into beading.

Hope that helps as a basic answer to your question.
    Celia
    I can't be creative and tidy too
    www.jencel.co.uk for beads, findings and threads
    The Occasional Sheffield Bead Shop
    Jencel on Facebook

Comment