X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• new to beading...advice required please

hi there everyone
    im only just learning, so please excuse my ignorance on all matters
    im trying my hand at tiara making....nothing fancy obviously and its only as a bit of hobby. Just got a couple of questions to get me started if thats ok with you all

1. How do you stop the beads falling down the wire? Are they glued? or do you twist the wire?
    2. Ive read about two different types of pliers that i will need...is that right?

as i said, im only learning so any help would be much appreciated.

cheers
    GG

Hi GG and welcome to the forum I will try to help but there are some very good beaders on here and I only dabble.

1. Re stopping the beads fall down the wire you can use crimps. with a crimping tool before and after the bead, this will lock the bead in place. The crimps are tiny bits of metal that you thread onto the wire then crimp shut.

2. Re tow pliers if you can afford it go for one of the sets of pliers that are about, shop around as costs do vary and you will get round nose, flat a few more plus cutters etc.

Good Luck

Comment

thank you so much for your very helpful reply....im sure i will be bothering ppl no end with questions! hahaha

so i need crimps AND a crimping tool...round nose AND flat nose pliers?

gg

Comment

Definitely invest in some good pliers! I don't have crimping pliers at the moment (as I've not made anything needing crimps!) but I have a set of three pliers, round nose, flat nose and cutters.

Good pliers are invaluable!

Search around for them though, like Carole said, there are some good deals out there. I like my pliers because they're colour coded, which is great for me because my brain works quicker than my hands! Make sure you look on ebay too!

Lou Lou's Luxuries on Folksy

MonkeyLouLou's Blog

Facebook Fan Page

Tweet Tweet (twitter)

Comment