Bead advice please...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Bead advice please...

I am going to try and make a pair of earrings but from looking at some of the sites suggested through the forum I am a little overwhelmed and confused! I want to make a pair of drop earrings, with using swarovski crystals or something with the same sort of effect. So may question is, do I buy swarovski or is there a cheaper option? What findings will I need and what size beads? Thank you!
    Katian Mosaics

♥ My Ebay Listings ♥

My Facebook Page

This is totally cheeky - but if you have never tried to make earrings before I have a kit that makes 5 pairs on my website. It's exclusive to us and I've not seen anything like it anywhere else - it's aimed at the total novice. There are 5 different pairs of earrings in the pack, all different sorts of glass beads - but not crysals.
    If your interested PM me and I'll get you the code so you can find it easily.
    Cheers,
    Mel
    Try a new way every day and work becomes play!

Comment

I think Mel's idea is excellent - if you've never made earrings before, a kit is agreat way to start.

When I am learning something new I always practice with cheaper materials till I'm sure I've got it right. Swaros are fabulous, they give a totally different effect to other crystals but they are more expensive.

The materials you will need vary depending on the type of earring you want and the type of bead you're using. Have a look at the projects on the Fire Mountain Gems website, that should give you an idea.
      Heather
      Pretty Things Handmade Jewellery

Website - www.prettythingsjewellery.co.uk

Destash bead and papercrafting shop - http://www.misi.co.uk/handmade/BlackCatBeads.html

New blog - www.prettythingsandwitterings.blogspot.com

Comment

I'm not that expert on earings, although they are a good seller.
        I use Sterling Silver Ear Hooks from Jillysbeads, they are about 49p a pair i think.