Newbie needing help for my uni project! HELPPP! =(

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Newbie needing help for my uni project! HELPPP! =(

Hi, Im new obviously! still trying to figure things out...like posting a new thread?..I think?

I am a student in my final year of studying furniture and product design.
    For my minor project (25% of overall mark) I designed a toiletry bag for festivals, however I tried making it but my sewing machine was too weak and the university won't let me use sewing machines unless I am on a fashion course and receive 6 weeks of induction (which I don't have time for with other projects).

So my tutor told me to go get it made by someone who knows how to, and I was told to come here as there are many talented sew-ers on here that may be willing to help?...
    I will pay obviously and credit you in my project =)....Let me know if you are interested, I would need the bag by May time...

Hope someone replies to my little post of newbie/help/I want a degreeee! =D

Kat xo

Hi, I'm sure someone will help you out but don't let it end there. Share some pics of you other work on the forum.
    Be careful though because it does become addictive.
    James x
    www.facebook.com/CraftyCath

Comment

Why not recruit someone who is on the fashion course who can sew and make this more of a useful collaboration?

Comment

OK so what are you making your toilet bag out of?
        Is the problem that the stuff is too thick to go through your sewing machine or that it's slipping?

Don't forget that before we invented sewing makines we had hands. You might want to look into leatherworking techniques if your problem is using plasticated fabric. There are ways of making your sewing look mechanical.

For slipping - the other craftforumites have answers. I just say naughty words, handsew and keep my sanity .

Comment

Hi Kat,
          I studied Product design at uni too! Seems such a long time ago now...