No announcement yet.

When does a piece of work become craft?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• When does a piece of work become craft?

Hello,
    I am currently a B A (HONS) in Art & Design student and I am writting my dissertation and I would be very grateful for any help?
    My dissertation is on "When does soemthing become craft? or Art?
    If any one can answer my question please do.
    Many thanks
    Robingirl.

If I answered it do I get the degree?
    Cake Toppers http://huntersdesigns.co.uk
    My etsy http://peculiarforest.etsy.com
    My Blog http://peculiarforest.blogspot.com

Comment

Or....
      If we answer it and you fail, will you sue us????
      http://icecreambird.blogspot.com/

Comment

sounds complicated - i did a degree that sounds very similar....although - are they not the same thing....personally i would take the approach of, you work hard at both, research both, experiement with different materials for maximum effect...both are finished with no right or wrong, which for me is art! maybe a craft can be wrong!?!?!?!!?

does that make sence or am i babbling on! i think i get what i mean...if you dont then email me...ahahahahahahaha!!!!!

sorry for being rubbish with words/english im an artist not a literate!!!!
        ha
        Funky jewellery & Luxury handmade greetings cards www.sunbatheintheshade.com

Comment

How about this...

Crafters spend hours working over something and the financial gain is minimal, whereas artists wake up and go "Dammit, I'll just put my bed in the gallery" and make a mint?

That's actually quite tongue in cheek, please don't take me seriously.

The dictionary definition for "art" uses the word "craft", and vice versa. I would suggest that the main difference is down to...

(a) the perception of the viewer
          (b) the surroundings that the item is found in
          (c) the price tag attached and subsequent inherent value psychologically linked to it