Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Let's be ambitious!!

Hello everyone!!

I'm excited to be a part of this forum but also want everyone to have a great pre-xmas period. There is absolutely no reason why we all shouldn't - presents need to be bought don't they? As a professional designer I can often see at events where some other exhibitors fall flat with sales etc. I have a few theories (I have been doing this a few years...)

Check area of event - demographic of customers (if it is affiliated with a farmer's market, this is good. Posh sausages etc)

I hate it when other exhibitors undersell themselves. Selling things for 2 or 3 pounds (when they're clearly worth a lot more) is a disgrace. It undervalues yourself, your work and makes everyone else look rubbish too. You absolutely cannot sell things you have made yourself for something less than a piece of mass produced tat from a high street shop, or worse, a pound shop. I raised my prices a few years ago, and I sell consistently and it is my 100% full time living.

Please have literature printed, professionally, not hand written scribbles and also CHECK SPELLING!!

If this sounds like a rant, then I guess it is. I just wish some 'crafters' (not sure I like that term, sounds a bit patronising) or 'designers' had more faith.

On that note. Hello everyone, and good luck for Christmas 2009!! xxxx

Helen,
    I could not agree with you more.
    I Melt Glass For a Living
    Website

Comment

I agree Helen and this is what I think over time has happened to craft fairs, they have come to represent cheap which is not the case. Although have not sold much at fairs this year there is no way I am going to slash my prices just to sell, have a new year sale maybe but at realistic reductions not selling at a lost.

One fair I went to a lady had made bookatrix cards and was selling them for a £1, she could not be making her materials let alone time.