Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• jewellery starter kits

Hi everyone
    I apologise if i am in the wrong bit or should be on another thread, please tell me if so. I am new to jewellery making and have been reading books and magazines for ages now. I am signed up to do a 2 day course in basic beading and some early wire wrapping and the basics of what it all means etc. However as i couldnt wait for advice i had a mad moment on the internet and have bought a super deluxe jewellery starter kit. It cost £160 (yikes) and now i have it i dont know whether it is worth it or not. I have compared it to a smaller kit which is at least £60 cheaper and the only difference i can see is the small box of Swarkovski crystal beads. Am i naive and dont realise that they do cost that much and if so, is it daft of me to pay for beads as expensive as that as a novice? Can anyone help me as i am feeling really guilty for spending that amount of money on something which i dont even have the experience of knowing is what i will need. I have contacted the company as there were some bits missing ie a string of pearls and a watchface, whether there is anything else missing or replaced i dont know as i dont know what the beads are. Please help, the company will take it back but then i wont have anything to start with.
    Thanks, Marshmaiden

I did a wire & bead workshop first of all, then went out and bought the essentials - wire cutters, 3 types of pliers, some wire, some beads, clasps, and have just gone from there. So prob spent about £30 at first on supplies.

Since then of course have gone mad with beads etc, but have concentrated on stringing, basic wire work, so haven't had to buy more equipment/tools apart from crimping pliers.

So will depend on what you want to use/how much silverworking/pmc work you're going to do as torches/hammer/block etc will obviously add to initial outlay.