No announcement yet.

New to jewellery making, advice needed!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New to jewellery making, advice needed!

Hi,

I am new to jewellery making and have a few good books which have suggested essential tools and a couple of projects. I have been reading that its best not to buy cheap tools. Does anyone have a particular brand they use? E.g for pliers? I am also planning to do my first project a plain band ring, in one of the books it suggests using half round wire. I have seen lots of this on different websites, what gauge would anyone suggest is best for this?

Thanks for reading.

Cheers

Chris

Best advice I can give ,is to buy cheap basic tools, cheap copper wire. Get stuck in find which tools you will use most then buy good quality versions, box made type by anybody are best,

Comment

I agree with Urbtaf, buy a cheap set and see how you get on first. My cheap set are still going strong 4 years later. You may not be able to find half round copper or coloured craft wire but round wire should work just as well.

Melanie

Comment

Hi,

Thanks very much for the advice. I'll pop to wilko or wickes in the morning and pick up some cheap pliers.

Thanks again

Chris

Comment

Try your local pound shop first. Got some good ones there.
          "You've Got to Keep Your Mind Wide Open" - AnnaSophia Robb
          my Folksy shop Goldy'sclearoutblog debaynewebdesign

Comment

hi chris nad to the forum...,..I agree with urbtaf, get cheap basic tools and try.................

www.folksy.com/shops/sandrute

Comment

I have a set of 3 pliers ( round nose, chain nose and snips ) all in a nice little zip case, made by Rayher and i think they only cost me about £10 new and i think they are great. Thats all i have apart from a pair of crimping pliers.

Comment