Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Craft or Art?

Hi All

I'm new to this forum and want to know the difference between art and craft, artist and artisan. People say I'm an artist, but I really think I am an artisan and my work is craft. Are you an artist, crafts-person or artisan

All opinions welcome.

Pete
    Figurines Sculpture, Insights Into the Making of Collectibles

I think art is a craft and vise versa. You can't separate the two.
    Carol
    Carol
    God helps them that help themselves.

Comment

Hi - welcome to the forum and I agree with the previous posting!!
      Cynthia
      http://iforjonesdesigns.website.orange.co.uk

Comment

Welcome Pete

That is a really thorny question particulary in the pottery world. You get people calling themselves Ceramic Artists, Ceramicists, Artists in Clay etc but it's difficult to put a finger on the reasons for the difference.

Me? I make pots so I call myself a potter. I don't really care if people consider me an artist, a craftsman or an artisan

John
        I follow the "Way of the Clay"
        http://www.lockettpots.co.uk

Comment

Originally posted by lockettpots View Post
          Welcome Pete

That is a really thorny question particulary in the pottery world. You get people calling themselves Ceramic Artists, Ceramicists, Artists in Clay etc but it's difficult to put a finger on the reasons for the difference.

Me? I make pots so I call myself a potter. I don't really care if people consider me an artist, a craftsman or an artisan

John
          I think if you're that good at anything you can call yourself what you like. You hav e earned that privalage.
          Carol
          Carol

Comment

It all depends what I make - quilled pictures I may consider art, but generally not my greetings cards! I'm a quiller!

to the forum.
            View my flickr

'I am sure it must hurt your eyes to work filigree by candlelight.' - Jane Austen

Comment