How old is your craft?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How old is your craft?

I was thinking today and discussing with mum, about the Victorian Kitchen programme and how all the old crafts are making a come back and it got me to thinking:

Do you know where and when your craft dates from?

I know mosaicing dates back to Roman and Byzantine times and Indri put on a post recently that quilling is a very old craft done by Nuns.

So come on crafters, do you know when and where your craft dates back to? (try for your exact craft, ie not just jewellery but your specific type of jewellery making, such as beading, silversmithing etc)

let's see if we can find the oldest craft there is.....
    Diane
    Reach for the moon-if you miss-you'll still be amongst stars

As I'm an artist, I guess mine goes back to the caveman days? And sometimes, I feel as old as my craft too.
    Gail x

My Blog: http://gailburtonart.blogspot.com/

Comment

Corn Dollies, cosmetic/body oils/butters and felt go way back, soap as such just a few centuries.

I don't know which of those would be the oldest; certainly the ancient Egyptians used various emolliants and cleansers and grew wheat; remains of plaited straw and grass have been found in many ancient sites and felt is reputed to be one of the oldest forms of fabric, pre-dating weaving.
      Last edited by ElaineJ; 30-01-2009, 06:40 PM.
      ElaineJ soap and other stuff
      website
      blog

Comment

Pyrography with a machine dates back from Victorian times, when benzene-fuelled machines were invinted - they looked lethal, though, Before then, it was known as pokerwork, because you used a poker heated in the fire. This was popular in the 1600's, but such work has been found on Viking and Roman artifacts, also, and on Peruvian gourds dating from before 700 AD. It's theorised that it's been done ever since metal was available
        Cheers,
        Scorch

Scorch's Pyrography : www.scorchpyro.co.uk