Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Where does self confidence come from?

Because I could seriously do with some.

I was feeling all pleased with myself, I'd taken Tom (son) to a sucessful speech therapy session, took a deep breath and spoke to his teacher about his progress.

Then I went in to the Post Office and a lady walked up to me and said "Do you do alteration?" and I went to pieces!! I stuttered and stammered and made a complete **** of myself. THEN to make things worse, I said " But I'm only an average sort of dressmaker" ! I can't believe I said that!!
    I've been dressmaking for 20 years! I've been doing other people's alterations for ages now - and everyone's happy with my work!

Going by the look on her face, I'm not going to alter her skirt.

Seriously, bearing in mind I am 40, can I improve my self confidence? Or am I stuffed?

Debbie (still smarting)
    Debbie
    http://www.facebook.com/home.php?#!/...?id=1262375772

http://www.folksy.com/shops/purplemac

http://purplemac.misi.co.uk/

I am exactly the same.Im 33 and still get nervous even talking to my friends(who are all very mature and confident, I feel like a 12 year old around them)!!

Sounds ridiculous but you know that Baz Luhrman song, something about suncream in the title, I like a few of the things that is said in it and it helps.
    It says things like 'do something every day that scares you' well I get up and go to work,thats scary enough.
    The other one is some thing like (actually i googled this to get it right)'your choices are half chance, so are everybody elses'.
    Its worth reading.

Can you pinpoint it to something that happened in your life that makes you self conscious?
    I always feel really aware of how stupid Im going to appear if I say the wrong thing and I feel like it all gets exaggerated even if I make a tiny mistake.

Learn from what happened and move on, no point in feeling bad about it.Its her loss if you dont alter her skirt.