Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Looking for advice

Hi there,

I have just joined after reading many threads and seeing a lot of people with experience and knowledge helping others.

I am currently in my final year of studying jewellery design at college, I graduate in May/June 2013. I am planning on starting my own business but unfortunately
    do not have much knowledge on running and starting a business. The jewellery I plan on mainly selling is using precious and semi-precious materials along side a few beaded pieces which will be all handmade.

The only legal requirement I really know is that my jewellery must be hallmarked.

I am looking for any advice possible !

I also have a few questions and I would appreciate it if someone would help me out

1. I live in Scotland and wondered if anyone knows any good advice centres/groups I could attend to take me through the requirements and laws of running a business

2. If anyone knows any funding options available , I am 20 years old I know age applies to some grants available.

3. How VAT works ? I've heard that you keep invoices and reclaim VAT.

4. Do I have to register my business or just as self employed? If not is it beneficial to register the business?

5. Any laws that may apply?

6. Does it affect house insurance in anyway ?

7.Is it worth paying for a professional site right away or starting on the likes of facebook and ebay?

8. Any good sites or books on running a jewellery business?

Sorry for so many questions I know it's a lot but any advice will be much appreciated as I would like to have myself clued up and ready to go for finishing college