Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Where do I begin? Advice please on starting a business

Hi

I would really like to open a shop selling craft items for card making and scrapbooking in my home town. We have nothing here like this. There is Colemans, but I cannot even find a mothers day peel off or wedding day peel off. I think there is a gap and want to fill it before someone else does.
    But my DH isn't sure. I haven't a clue where to start really. Do I have to do anything before going to the bank for advice. Will I need to put my house up as security for a loan to start-up. I don't even know what a business plan looks like.
    If anyone who has been here and knows what to do can help in anyway, it will be much appreciated. Many thanks

Michelle

Opening a shop is a big deal.. I'm no expert (on anything really!) but i would think the first thing to do would be to decide if there is a market for your stuff..
    You seem to think there is...
    Then you have to find suppliers that you can get stuff cheap enough for you to make a profit...
    Then you have to find your premises... Very important as you need to know what your outgoings will be each month.. Rent for the shop, business rates, etc, and you need to work out how much of your stuff you need to sell every month in order to make a profit..
    When you are working out your outgoings remember to factor in the wage bill.
    Will you be working in the shop full time yourself? Personally i would think that this is the only way to get a business up and running, this will cut down the wage bill which would otherwise be a huge outgoing..
    Remember that a sop just opening needs to be open as much as possible, there's nothing more annoying than a shop being shut at different times.. so it will be a big part of your life!!