sewing circle classes???

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• sewing circle classes???

Just wondering if anybody can give me a bit of advice please? A few of my friends (who are not sewers) have suggested it may be an idea for me to start up a little, once a week "sewing class/circle". They often ask me to "show" them how i've made something, and say i'm a very patient teacher.
    I have a BA Hons in textile design which is more to do with surface pattern and the construction of fabrics, but I am self taught on the sewing machine. Both my mum and grandmother were creative with the sewing machine and my mum was also an upholstery machinist and they taught me a lot of what I know.
    I'm just wondering how I would go about setting up a class, i'm thinking informal makes for beginners etc. Would I need any sort of "qualification" to advertise as a sewing teacher/tutor?
    As far as I know my degree would allow me to legally teach adults over age 16 but I would need to complete a PGCE to teach children (which I have no desire to do) maybe somebody could put me right on this? Its just another idea going through my mind so I can eventually consider giving up my "proper" job and do what I love on a full-time basis......sew sew sew
    http://wwwheartandsew.blogspot.com/