Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Single mum - new business - Inland revenue

Hello all

Im new to the forum, been reading through some of the messages and you all seem so friendly and helpful.

Ive been crafting for a couple of years now, I do all sorts card making, Scrapbooking, Cross stitching, Wedding stationery, Done a bit of Quilting and now Im thinking about trying Jewellery making.

Anyway Im a single mum with a 6 year old daughter, I work part time so dont pay any tax or NI and I get help with my rent and council tax and also get working tax credit.

Could anyone tell me if they have been in the same situation as me and then started their own craft business and became self employed? How will it affect my benefits/credits? All im wanting to do to start with is sell on ebay and at craft fairs, but I want to do it all by the book, dont want to get caught and fined!

Hope someone will be able to help me.

Donna

Hi Donna

I'm afraid I can't help with any of your questions but I just thought I'd say welcome to the forum and good luck with your crafting!

Visit my blog!
    http://peggycrafts.blogspot.com/

www.peggycrafts.co.uk

Etsy shop:
    www.peggycrafts.etsy.com

Comment

Hi Donna,
      You will need to inform the Inland revenue and also housing benifit.

Housing benifit will then ask you to fill out a self employment form stating your finances with your business, this will need to be filled out every three months or so!

Also in my experiance this will then make payments delayed untill they can get off their bums to do the work AHHH. Its very fustrating!!! Housing benifit will also take/deduct for every £ you earn.

Most of them, housing benifit staff, will be happy to help with any answers.