Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Why the internet....?

Hi,
    I am a student looking at the effects the internet is having on traditional shops and why people are turning to the internet over a high street shop. I have asked why people buy on the internet. But I would also like to know why people start on the internet rather than buying or starting a shop

I am also looking at how people advertise their internet businesses to see if there is a difference in the types of advertising to see if the internet effects other business.

Thank-you from a desperate student who has left it to the last min again!!!

Originally posted by Morgan View Post
    Hi,
    I am a student looking at the effects the internet is having on traditional shops and why people are turning to the internet over a high street shop. I have asked why people buy on the internet. But I would also like to know why people start on the internet rather than buying or starting a shop
    My thoughts:

1) Main reasons for choosing internet based business over high street shop: overheads are lower (rent & rates), no staffing issues (p.a.y.e and all the other regulations that come with having staff), flexibilty (no need to adhere to a rigid 9-5 opening hours etc) and low start up costs (compared to having to deck out a shop).

2) Why shop on the internet? Prices are often more competitive even with postage most times (you'd normally have to pay for parking in a town center anyway). Wide range of choice without the pain/time traipsing around the shops. Flexibility to 'shop' at any hour of the day/night plus for some people it is easier (i.e. than dragging kids around/disability/illness etc).

Hope that helps the cause - good luck !
    Mel

Comment

Agree with all that BBL has said, plus:

Selling on the internet -

you can reach a global market, not just your local high-street.

advertising (usually) costs less, if not free - easy to put a www. address on literature etc