Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Are al craft fair organisers like this? :(

Hi there

I make soaps and I am new to selling at craft fairs. I had my first fair a few days ago the day it self went really well I had alot of great feedback from the visitors and the other traders and I had a great day. But I did find that this 'craft/gift fair' was more of a market as in there were alot of bought in goods which I think would be fine if they were gift or crafty but for example there was someone selling box files and reams of paper??!! Quite a couple of traders started packing away 1hr before the set time to close which started the other traders to pack up so when the visitor were coming in they thought it had finished. So when the fair organiser email me to ask if I wanted to do another at a different venue at quite a expensive rate I brought up my above concerns and asked if this was a regular occurance as it was my first I didnt know and asked if she had any vetting procedures. The reply I got was very surprising as I expected the organiser to say that it was a one off and that people should stay to the end and that this more expensive venue would be all crafters. but I got the response that Some bought in goods slip through the net (fair enough) and that it wasn't her fault that people left early and had I got any ideas to make them stay. She suggested I should start my own fair or go somewhere else if I wanted to stay till the end. That she was fed up of people moaning like me who are never happy, What has people leaving got to do with me and that you can buy soap from the local shopping centre how much do I sell mine for and that as for vetting procedures she said that she doesnt want soap.

Sorry for the massive paragraph but this really upset me I thought it would be ok to ask questions about types of products on sale and their procedures when they are asking £45 for a table at a local hotel??