Ads

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Displaying address on Etsy a legal requirement?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Displaying address on Etsy a legal requirement?

I am being told by another Etsy seller that I am breaking the law if I don't display my home address on my Etsy shop. Is this really true? I am also an art teacher and don't want my pupils to be able to find out my address!! Surely there are exceptions for small businesses? Please help as I am starting to panic!!
    http://www.serendipitychild.blogspot.co.uk/
    http://www.etsy.com/shop/serendipitychild

A business is a business, doesn't matter if you are small or large. They all have to obet the same rules. This topic should help you out http://www.craftsforum.co.uk/showthr...quired-content
    Stephen
    Website - Soy of the North
    Blog - If Soy Candles Could Talk
    Twitter - random thoughts
    Facebook - more random thoughts

Comment

Or if the thread is too long to read- yes, you do have to put your address on Etsy in your shop policies if you are selling from the UK- it does actually mention it in their own terms now too.

If you're very very worried about that then switch to Folksy- your address will still have to be available by law, but will only be available to people after they have clicked to make a purchase.
      Mythillogical- Myths & Fabrications: Creating all manner of three-dimensional mixed media oddities
      etsy facebook blog tumblr

Comment

If your pupils really want to find out your address, then they can easily do so - it's scarcely rocket science.

I - like many people - do not buy from internet sellers who do not provide an address.