Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• suggestion for your websites

Apologies in advance for the long post.

I’m no expert where websites are concerned, but as an end user, I do have a comment that could be worthwhile considering, to potentially increase your sales.

I have, since joining this site, looked at hundreds, if not thousands of craft sites, some belonging to members, and some are suggested links.
    One thing I have increasingly noticed is the lack of information re P& P costs, especially for overseas orders. (I don’t live in the UK, so this is especially important to me).

If you don’t post overseas, fine, but make it clear at the beginning!
    Something like:
    We apologize but we currently only offer delivery within the UK. Please check back at a later date.

If you do post items beyond the white cliffs of Dover, (seeing as the world doesn’t end there) then also make it clear, again somewhere obvious. Maybe a scrolling banner type thingy on top of each page or on home page.

We deliver worldwide
    (Even if you haven’t sold abroad before, it can look good and could encourage overseas orders)

Detailed postage costs
    Many sites give a break down of costs within the UK, but nothing for overseas, but ask the potential buyer to contact by email or indicate that the site will advise the buyer of total cost prior to processing the order!
    Better than nothing, but annoying. I like to know what something will cost from the outset. I love to see Free delivery worldwide, but understand that’s not really a possibility for small businesses. Exact pricing may be difficult, but some of you are regulars at the post office, so should be able to get some detailed information, and
    publish some guideline overseas postage costs, if not exact costs.

I have seen sites with currency options, but which don’t say they post overseas, I can only assume they do, but there are NO details in P&P to so indicate nor any overseas postage costs.