Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Bootsales - Good Idea?

Hi all,

I'm new here. Was just looking for some advice. I am struggling to find any craft fairs in my area, my local one is on a Monday and as I work in a school I can't take any week days off.

However, we do have Denham Giant Car Boot near me every Saturday - but I don't know if selling crafts there is a good idea? I have got an online shop but not having much luck!

Would appreciate any advice.

Hope everyone had a lovely weekend.

Anna xx
    blog: http://puppyflyboutique.blogspot.com

shop: http://www.folksy.com/shops/PuppyFlyBoutique

I've tried one once, and that was enough!! When some silly bint tells me at 8am that my stuff is all cheap and nasty she nearly got her head ripped off, never ever again!! You will find everyone wants to pay 10p for things and will always try and knock the price down, I'm not up for that at all, especially not at silly 'o' clock on a sunday morning, selina

Comment

Generally I don't think boot sales work that well for hand crafted goods. People go to bootsales to flog their unwanted junk/pick up cheapie bargains on second hands stuff as a rule...(one man'
      s trash is another man's treasure and all that ...)

There are a few boot markets that are a mix of new and used things but I would definitely recommend checking them out before you go to the expense and effort of getting a stall there. A Boot market and a craft market are two very different creatures.

I wish you luck if you do try it and hope you will let us know how it goes.

Comment

Got to agree with Selina and Christa. Car boot sales are, in my opinion, for getting rid of your old junk quickly and picking up more old junk from other people, cheaply! I don't think it's the place for handcrafted items that have taken time and effort.
        You say you haven't had much success with sales via your website, I think this is a case of promotion, promotion and a bit more promotion!