Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Help with photos for web page

Hi All,

On for yet another bit of advice. I have been using a photographer to take pictures of my candles for my website but it has cost me a fortune. I tried to take a couple myself with a friends digital camera (if you look at the seasonal page and look at the Christmas Trees and the wedding page for the mother in law candles you will see what I mean).

What would the best thing be, do I bit the bullet and get a decent digital camera - if so which one? and how do you get the picutres to look good enough for the web (lighting and such).

You are a lovely bunch of people
    Bowed Over
    Handmade Dog Collar Accessories
    www.bowedover.co.uk

Hi Lisa!

I'm no expert but I can give you the limited knowlege I have.

A digital camera in my opinion is a good purchase but you don't need to purchase an expensive one for good results.

I have a cannon one and it wasn't expensive but it's good for what I need.

If you do a lot of close up's then it may be worth looking at one a bit more expensive that you can fit a macro lens to to take close ups but not out of focus.

As far as lighting is concerned you need as much lighting as possible and if the candle is textured then stronger side lighting is better. If you are needing to use the flash then your picures can look washed out. You can avoid this by using the zoom function where you stand further back and zoom into the object. That way the flash won't reflect so much.

I honestly wouldn't have noticed the difference in the two photos if you hadn'tmentioned it but you can so that is what matters. I think the biggest difference to me was the amount of dressing up the photographer had done to his pics. Spend extra time and thought with this and I think you'd be onto a winner there!