Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Average Costs?

Hi All,

I'm relatively new to crafting-to-sell, and have only done one or two local fairs. I'd like to spread my wings a little further and aim for some bigger fairs - what sort of fees should I expect to have to pay?

So far I've checked out a 2-day event that was charging £100. Is this normal? It's a bit of a jump from the £15 I've been paying for afternoon ones! My concern is that I'd have to sell a lot of items (jewellery) to cover my entry and transport costs before I even began to see any contribution towards costs of materials, let alone some kind of profit. Is it worth the gamble?

Would love to hear anyone else's experiences.
    Regards, Carol

http://www.lindenblossom.com

Craft shows

There is a great temptation when you are searching for the elusive jewellery tables to take anything you can get in to but I try & apply a bit of maths before getting my cheque book out!

I work out what value of jewellery I would have to sell to cover all my costs and then divide that by the number of customers I would need make that value. My stuff ranges from £40 - £7 so I use an average value of £15. I then presume that of the number of people who attend the fair about 10% would be interested in my stuff & then only 10% will actually buy.

Obviously there is no real science behind this but it does give you an idea of just how many people you need through the door just to cover your costs so if the venue doen't get that many visitors you will have to be very fortunate to make a profit.

I tend to mostly stick to fairs that charge up to £30 with an occasional larger one if the numbers work or if I want my work to be seen in a different area, as I get a reasonable amount of 2nd or 3rd sales from people contacting me after a show or people offering me other fairs because they like my stuff.

Sorry about the length of my reply but hang in there for the right fair, they do come along!

Anita
    Silvergirl