Advice re: my first craft fair

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Advice re: my first craft fair

Hi, I'm not really sure where to place this thread, but I hope you can help.

I make kids clothes and other little fabric notions and have been looking into doing my first local very small craft fair. I've had no experience of selling my crafts at all before and I'm slightly nervous that I'm doing things right.

Do I need some sort of insurance? I must say that I'm going to "try" the craft fair first and see how it goes.

Help please.
    from an excited but nervous potential stall holder!
    Estee
    www.sweetpea4kids.folksy.com

Some of the bigger fairs ask for public liabilty insurance so check first, if its a school or some other smaller affair you probably don't. Think about how you are going to display your goods in advance, its worth a trial run. Take a float of change, coffee, snacks etc if its a long stint and a chair. You usually need to take something to cover your table with. Price your goods clearly, smile and chat with your potential customers and away you go! Have fun, and good luck!
    www.littlebead.blogspot.com
    www.twitter.com/littlebead

Comment

Some venues will require you to have public liability insurance, others won't require it but it can be a good idea to have it (especially if you're going to be doing fairs regularly). I also have product liability insurance.

Do you know what size table you're getting? Or do you have to provide your own? Either way have a practice at putting your stuff out before you go and you'll get an idea of how it'll all fit and what looks good, etc. I use a large bit of black cotton fabric to cover tables - I got it big enough to cover an 8ft table though I usually book a 6 ft table (have found some events only have bigger tables or some are provide your own and I can fit an 8ft in the space allotted)