Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Advice on breaking into the scene?

Hi there,
    I am moving to Edinburgh in a few weeks, and I am hoping to get a market trading stall up and running. As well as aiming to trade in Edinburgh I would like to get into some surrounding markets. I am new to this and I'm not really sure of the best way to apply to markets (or to find them, come to think of it!) and get licenses. Does anyone have any helpful advice on websites or mailing lists, or where to apply for licenses in Edinburgh and beyond? It would be a craft and goods stall, not a food stall. I currently live in Ireland, which is why I'm not really in touch with my home country.
    I'd be eternally grateful for any help on this that anyone can give me.

Best regards,

Hopeful Trader (aka Blair)

Can't help you but welcome to the forum anyway. Someone will be along shortly with usefull info.,
    Carol
    God helps them that help themselves.

Comment

National market traders federation, their web site will answer a lot of your questions. Ive worked markets for 30+ years so if you need to know something specific then E-mail me, if you want to know everything about markets I would be on this computer for the next few years.
      If I were looking at the Edin area then I would be paying a lot of attention to the more tourist areas as I have heard that craft type goods are well catered for up there. good luck, and buy some good thermals for winter

Comment

Hi Blair andto the forum, good luck with the move to Edinburgh, its a beautiful place and I hope you get sorted with setting up your stall.
        Jo x
        Things to make and do
        Things to make and do's Facebook page
        Michael Lovejoy's Art

Comment

Hello and welcome to the forum.