No announcement yet.

Stallholders, Craft Fairs and selling!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Stallholders, Craft Fairs and selling!

Hello All,

I have just come back from a fab craft Fair in Southampton, I had lots of fun and the sun brought out peoples wallets!!

The only thing which put a black cloud over the event was the complaining from the other stall holders!! You know "we want to be here" "if you did it this way I would have made more sales" and other similar comments.

Now I am no expert but some very basic selling tips need to be shared as to why these people did not sell.
    Stand up and Smile, say hello and to those who come to your stand, then just start to chat about your products, the weather, children anything to engage the person looking.

Do not sit in your chair and completely ignore the world around you with a face like a wet weekend!!!! I observed on stand over the way from me the lady sat in the middle with about 4-5 people looking at her products. She did not once acknowledge them and they walked away, she lost about £40-£80 of sales by not engaging the public.

I am very sorry for the rant but I thought I'd share as people always ask me how I do so well.

So to leave you all with one last classic line... Smile and the world will smile with you!! and hopefully part with their cash!!

Ann

Ann - how I agree with you. There are always those who don't want to speak to you, but on the whole people respond really well to being spoken to and engaged in conversation. Certainly it is rude not even to acknowledge people in front of your stall. Do people really want to sell!!!! I was next to someone at one sale - it was a mix of gifts and crafts - and she sold one item and packed up early as "this is no good". I had a great evening, but then I did not arrive with a face like a wet week and an attitude to match!!!!
    Cynthia
    http://iforjonesdesigns.website.orange.co.uk

Comment