DeltaCeramcoat Paints

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• DeltaCeramcoat Paints

Hi all, I am a very frustrated Tole painter. Having learned the craft in Canada where the books and paints were found everywhere I have returned to the Uk and cannot find the Acrylic paint that i use anywhere. My only option is to order from the US but the postage is high. Has anyone seen Delta Ceramcoat paints anywhere in the UK?

Hi, can't say I've seen those paints but sometimes you find the same thing has a different name over here, have you tried googling and seeing if there are different trade names?
    Just an idea.....

Sue
    www.susiedolls.com
    www.susie1205.blogspot.com

Comment

hello and welcome what is tole painting
      Last edited by craftyjan; 13-04-2008, 07:52 AM.
      Jan xx

http://craftyjan.blogspot.com/

Comment

I wondered what tole painting was too, so had a google !

Tole painting is the folk art of decorative painting on tin and wooden utensils, objects and furniture. Typical metal objects include utensils, coffee pots, and similar household items. Wooden objects include tables, chairs, and chests, including hope chests, toyboxes and jewelry boxes.
        (from Wikipedia http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tole_painting )

and

The word "tole" according to good ole Merriam-Webster refers to sheet metal and especially tinplate used in domestic and ornamental wares. Historically, the phrase "Tole Painting" was used to describe the art of decorative painting on tin, which began in New England in the latter half of the 18th century. It's said that those who could not afford fine china learned to "fancy up" their tinware with paint.

Over the years, the phrase "tole painting" has been gradually included under the umbrella of "decorative painting" and expanded to include painting on a wide variety of surfaces (wood, glass, porcelain, fabric, ceramic and pottery as well as tin) and incorporating a wide variety of today's mediums and techniques.