PDA

View Full Version : Selling cards and What Not

Paper Trinkets
13-09-2010, 06:37 PM
Hello all,

I am just beginning on my journey with selling cards. So far, so good but as a perfectionist I am finding the following an issue.

I use a lot of large brads, buttons, ribbon and tie knots etc in my work. Once my cards are placed in an envelope I find that these items poke "through". You can see the outline and I feel this ruins the effect of what I think is a beautiful card.

I'd like to begin charging 4/ 4.50 as I intend on making my cards larger and sending each card in a presentation box. However, I have been told that this is far too pricey by the majority of folks I ask.

I have sold the odd card at this price but most people feel that 3 is more like it.

May I ask you opinions please?

Laurie
13-09-2010, 07:15 PM
Hi there,
I have been making and selling cards for a few years now and find that in the current financial climate people don't want to pay a great deal for them, especially when they can get them from places like Moonpig where they are personalised at just a couple of pounds. When I have made cards with lots of raised items on I have tended to make my envelopes with the envelope score maker but using very heavy paper so it can handle the raised embellishments better. On the whole the most I charge for my large cards tends to be about two pounds fiftyish but doing it this way tends to mean people will buy several and will come back time and time again.
Anyway hope this helps.
Best wishes.
Debs.

KullakitaCards
13-09-2010, 07:28 PM
The cards that I sell online vary from 3.50 - 5.25 (personalised). Some are wedding invitations, but others are birthday cards, etc. Feel free to have a look at both my website and notonthehighstreet shop.

Emma.

homemade hannah
13-09-2010, 07:42 PM
Hi there,