PDA

View Full Version : Help needed with crochet patterns

Poppy4lee
30-01-2009, 10:48 AM
I recently downloaded some free crochet patterns and was rather pleased with myself until I tried to actually crochet them. Well, I am a novice but I really can't make head nor tail of them :mad:. I'm sure it's due to my inexperience, I've tried my best but to no avail!! Are there any kind people, who know how to crochet, that would be prepared to 'translate' the patterns into a format for dummies?? I'm more than happy to pay you for your trouble:) I've posted the links for the patterns below:
http://members.optusnet.com.au/we2/potpourrieheart.html
http://www.crochetmemories.com/archive/april7.html

Many thanks x

Phoenixjewellery
30-01-2009, 12:03 PM
No problem I can do it for you. What crochet terms are you familiar with so I know where to start? Can you make chains do double crochet, trebles, slip stitches? Once you let me know I will start to make sense of the pattern for you.
:) Janice

Mrs T Riddiough
30-01-2009, 12:34 PM
Both patterns are in american terms, if you have trouble getting someone to translate them into english then just shout.

Moonbeam Angel
30-01-2009, 04:52 PM
I havent looked at the links but I guessed they may be American. I too could translate for you if need be;)

silvermaid
30-01-2009, 08:51 PM
Here is a good site with clear drawings of the basic english stitches.
http://www.learn2knit.co.uk/crochet/basic-stitches.php

The americans - just to be different I suspect - call our double crochet a single crochet and so each one all the way up is different.
US - UK
slip stitch = slip stitch
single = double
double = treble
treble = double treble

Hope this helps

Melanie

Poppy4lee
02-02-2009, 01:48 PM
No problem I can do it for you. What crochet terms are you familiar with so I know where to start? Can you make chains do double crochet, trebles, slip stitches? Once you let me know I will start to make sense of the pattern for you.
:) Janice