PDA

View Full Version : New Member and New Beader!!

shabbychic
14-04-2008, 08:45 AM
Hi All,

I am new to all jewellery making, but wanted to start doing it, but I have not got a clue where to start??? I want to start making fashion necklaces (the type you buy in topshop etc) for my friends and family. I need not only a little inspiration but the best shops/websites to buy from for beginners.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. xxx

incywincy
14-04-2008, 08:52 AM
Hello & (welcome)

craftyjan
14-04-2008, 08:56 AM
hello and welcome i also have just started beading made my first necklace and earings very simple just bead threading on beading cord that i got from a site from one of the forum members the people on here are very helpful and there sites are really good i think it could be very addictive as with the forum you find lots of useful tips on here and where to get anything you need for lots of crafts im going to purchase a book on the basics but there are a few beading magazines that give you step by step instructions and what you need check out whsmiths they seem to have a good selection and good luck with your jewellry making im sure you will enjoy it(welcome)

shabbychic
14-04-2008, 09:02 AM
thank you girls, i will have a look at the books, might ebay it and see what comes up, i have resisted the magazine's so far, as could spend a fortune, but I might pop down to my local market, they have a magazine stall, might have some old crafting ones.

x

Rodeo Lady
14-04-2008, 09:08 AM
Sorry Rebecca dont know anything about beads but (welcome) from me anyway.

What your local bead shop ? They helped my friend buy her first purchases and they ran classes too. At least that way you wont spend more than you have too.

Good luck with it anyway.

Cheers Janice

Ifor-Jones
14-04-2008, 09:26 AM
Hi welcome to the forum - (welcome) - I am a cardmaker, but you will find lots of info for all crafts here and always someone who can help. Enjoy.

bynicki
14-04-2008, 09:50 AM